One Mans Wood
CFR CD14 (2016)

One Mans Wood
One Mans Wood [PR]
Wishful Wakening [RB]
Wade in the Water [J/F Work]
Highlander [PR]
Jelly Roll [J.Martyn]
Serenade to a Cuckoo [R.Kirke]
So much trouble [S.Terry/B.McGee]
Old Tin Can [PR]
Cant find my way home [S.Winwood]
Jack and Tars [PR]
Jelly Roll 2 [J.Martyn]
Witches Promise [I.Anderson]
Serenade to a Cuckoo [R.Kirke] *
Wade in the Water [J/F Work] *
May you never [J.Martyn] *

CDR CD14 cover        

Click here to listen to these songs on Apple Music.

Pat Rowbottombass guitar, vocals, percussion
Rob Barnesacoustic & electric guitar, vocals
Mark Parkinsonflute, piccolo
Vince Waltondrums & percussion
Joe Orbanpiano
Adam Hutchinspiano accordion
Simon Dowlingguitar
  • Live session @ Tameside Radio, Lancashire.
  • Special thanks to Neil Scales for providing a bit of acoustic guitar, piano and percussion on a couple of tracks.

Tracks 1/12 recorded, mixed and mastered at Starring Studios, Littleborough, Lancashire between June 2015 & March 2016. Engineered by Neil Scales.
Tracks 13/15 recorded by Tameside Radio. Mastered at Tiny Studios in Hyde, Cheshire in March 2016. Engineered by Ian Burke.
Final Mastering @ Starring Studios, Littleborough Engineered and edited by Neil Scales @
Produced by Pat Rowbottom. Artwork by Heather Burns @ CD design PR and Interlith, Glossop, Derbyshire


Background to the album

One Man's Wood represents the Cold Flame's twelfth studio album release and is a radical departure from the two previous band albums. The album is an all acoustic release representing, in a sense, the follow up to 'The Acoustic Collection' released five years previously. The album consists of a number of original acoustic blues and progressive folk songs written by Pat and Rob together with some additional cover songs with a strong Jethro Tull connection such as 'Witches Promise' and 'Serenade to a Cuckoo'. Much of the music is quite sparse featuring flute, acoustic and bass guitars with light percussion and piano. As with the majority of Cold Flame album releases, the songs featured in this album collection have become 'regulars' in the band's acoustic concerts. In total the album consists of twelve studio songs with an added bonus of three live songs recorded at Tameside Radio in Lancashire. The radio session took place in September 2015 and broadcast on the radio stations folk and blues show a week later. The album was recorded at Starring Studios in Littleborough, Lancashire with sound engineer Neil Scales at the helm over a four month period and the band added the radio session as a bonus to this album.Neil even got to play the odd instrument here and there. One Man's Wood was released worldwide as a cd on Starring Records and as an available download with one extra live bonus track - John Martyn's song 'Jelly Roll Blues' in 2016. Another inspiring album cover this time thanks to award winning Chesterfield photographer Heather Burns whilst Interlith Printing in Glossop handled album printing.

The album 'One Man's Wood' is available via the band website Shop.

Download versions of 'One Man's Wood' now available from Amazon, Apple and Napster


Read a recent review of the Cold Flame album - One Man's Wood

Home About History News Gigs Albums Diary Links Contact

This site is hosted by Vision Internet Ltd.